15 responses to “Alt-J: An Awesome Wave

  1. When the first track started, I was all like, this sounds good, wonder how it’ll be? Then, something else came in, and I was all like, this sucks. Then, the vocals kick in, and was all like, oh yeah, this sounds great.

    As I listened, I thought that it felt like I needed to watch this in a room with about 800 more speakers than I had. It felt rich and good.

    Then, I ended up listening to the last half on a mediocre speaker instead of my headphones, and it definitely wasn’t as good.

  2. The first minute of this was boring post-rock, but then the vocals were something other than I expected, in a good way. There seemed to be some solid tunes here. I can imagine getting into this a bit. A grower?

    Still have to listen to the rest.

    • Totally, the vocals are key. If they were any different, enjoyment factor would go way down. I like how his voice isn’t the standard whiny voice that usually goes with this type of music.

  3. Actually, the vocals got weirder as the thing went on. It started to sound like the Mighty Boosh crimping thing:

    That’s a brilliant show. Start from the beginning. I don’t think it’s quite the genre you think it is.

    Still interested in another listen.

    • I did start from the beginning, and i gave it a couple of episodes, and it’s not for me. I chalk it up to the differences in which we listen to music….

  4. The first part of the album is quite good, but, yeah, you’re right, the last part is a bit crimpy, unfortunately…

    • Yeah, I don’t know where I stand with this album. The vocals are pretty strange and I can’t listen to them without thinking of The Mighty Boosh, Spinal Tap, etc. But the songs are catchy. Some of the music reminds me a bit of Bloc Party, another English band that’s too popular for hipsters to like, but seem to know how to write good songs.

  5. The first half of the album is quite good. The Matilda song [8] is the bridge between the good part and bad part, and, itself is just kinda okay. The MS song [9] is terrible, and is the crimpiest song on the album.

    I quite like the vocals and the guitar of the songs 1-7 part of the album.

      • Hard to say, I had this on speakers for the second half, so maybe that gave it the boost it needed. It also got a thumbs up (except for the crimpy bits) from E, so a consensus builder like myself was naturally influenced.

      • No consensus building! From now on you need to do all your listening in an isolation chamber!

Leave a comment