2012 Round 2 Group 3

Final List, in listening order:

Perfume Genius: Put Your Back N 2 It
Death Grips: The Money Store
Quakers: Quakers
Jack White: Blunderbuss
Hundred Waters: Hundred Waters
El-P: Cancer for Cure
Patrick Watson: Adventure In Your Own Backyard
Killer Mike: R.A.P. Music

35 responses to “2012 Round 2 Group 3

  1. 1 – Lotus Plaza: Spooky Action at a Distance – More like “Boredom Plaza”, the most boring place on Earth.

  2. 2 – The Shins: Port of Morrow – Port of Boredom. The only thing more boring than Port of Boredom is Boredom Plaza which is in the centre of the Port of Boredom…

  3. 3 – Sigur Ros: Valtari – The only reason this is so high is because the last couple were boring, whereas this was ambient.

  4. 4 – Japandroids: Celebration Rock – seems like it’s fairly straight ahead rock, but I wouldn’t mind hearing it again to see if I’m missing something.

  5. 4) Lotus Plaza: Spooky Action at a Distance – I didn’t get a great sense of this. It sounded like a lot of other stuff, but I’m sure there’s some good songs in there. I doubt we’ll get a chance to find out

  6. 5 – Momus: Bibliotek – a bit of a disappointment in comparison to some of his other stuff, but, to be fair, those albums are tough to beat…

  7. 6 – Metric: Synthetica – A bit of a disappointment, but I would still like to hear it again to see if it was a LM thing…

  8. 7 – Daughn Gibson: All Hell – A nice surprise that I would like to listen to again, more closely.

  9. 7) Daughn Gibson: All Hell – I really liked some of the early songs, and then got a bit bored of the later ones. This seems like something new to me, so I’m interested in another listen.

  10. 8 – Cadence Weapon: Hope in Dirty City – Better than I thought it would, but not as good as it should be. Maybe it’ll get better.

  11. 8) Japandroids: Celebration Rock – I found the rockingness of it all a bit refreshing. But giving it the top spot in this group is with the benefit of critical acclaim.

  12. 8,6 = 7 – Cadence Weapon: Hope in Dirty City
    7,7 = 7 – Daughn Gibson: All Hell
    4,8 = 6 – Japandroids: Celebration Rock
    6,5 = 5.5 – Metric: Synthetica

    5,3 = 4 – Momus: Bibliotek
    1,4 = 2.5 – Lotus Plaza: Spooky Action at a Distance
    3,2 = 2.5 – Sigur Ros: Valtari
    2,1 = 1.5 – The Shins: Port of Morrow

  13. 2 – Patrick Watson: Adventure In Your Own Backyardā€Ø- Loved it the first time, but I definitely did not love it the last time. Not sure what changed, but I’m trusting my second listen.

  14. 2 – Hundred Waters: Hundred Waters – I don’t remember this too much, even though I’m writing this blurb less than an hour after listening to itā€¦ that says something, right?

  15. 3 – Jack White: Blunderbuss – I kinda like this, but I could see myself nixing several tracks.

  16. 4 – Perfume Genius: Put Your Back N 2 Itā€Ø- This was very boring last time, but I’m a bit curious to find out what I heard (and liked) in the first listen.

  17. 4 – Death Grips: The Money Store – It’s good, I just don’t see this as an album for long term listening.

  18. 5 – El-P: Cancer for Cureā€Ø- This is not music to my ears, but one of the songs is in my head and I wonder if it’s one listen from sticking. I’m going with the “when in doubt choose hip hop” strategy, even if that means all 4 in this group are hip hop.

  19. 6 – Quakers: Quakersā€Ø- Didn’t hook me at all this listen, but I think there’s something there, and it’s just going to take a few listens to really uncover it.

  20. 6 – Patrick Watson: Adventure In Your Own Backyard – extra points just so that erryferry has to wait another 6 years to hear it again. But, seriously folks, I wouldn’t mind hearing this again.

  21. 7 – Death Grips: The Money Storeā€Ø- I still don’t quite know what we’re dealing wiht here. It’s such a fusion of hip hop, electronic music, and punk. I’m interested in it and I’m definitely up for another listen.

  22. 7 – Quakers: Quakers – Quite a number of good tracks, and I want to hear it again to soak in the tracks that slip by me ’cause they’re too short.

  23. 8 – Killer Mike: R.A.P. Music – Tough call between this and Death Grips. Neither is perfect, but the best songs on this album have hooked me more than the best songs on Death Grips.

  24. 8 – Killer Mike: R.A.P. Music – Hmmm, I wasn’t thinking this would get the top spot, but what do you know, it did.

  25. 8,8 = 8 – Killer Mike: R.A.P. Music
    7,6 = 6.5 – Quakers: Quakers
    4,7 = 5.5 – Death Grips: The Money Store
    5,5 = 5 – El-P: Cancer for Cure

    6,2 = 4 – Patrick Watson: Adventure In Your Own Backyard
    1,4 = 2.5 – Perfume Genius: Put Your Back N 2 It
    2,3 = 2.5 – Hundred Waters: Hundred Waters
    3,1 = 2 – Jack White: Blunderbuss

Leave a comment